Skip to main content


54 Below

September 21, 2015

With Annaleigh Ashford & more

Cover charge: $40 – $50
Premiums: $85

Cover Charge Additional $5 At Door

Food & Beverage Minimum $25


Mon, Sept 21 9:30pm Doors 8:45pm Buy Tickets


Annaleigh Ashford (Sylvia, You Can’t Take It With You, Kinky Boots)
Kate Baldwin (Finian’s Rainbow, Big Fish)
Nicholas Christopher (Whorl Inside A Loop)
Matt Doyle (The Book of Mormon)
Josh Lamon (Finding Neverland)
Tamika Sonja Lawrence (If/Then)
Julia Murney (Wicked, The Wild Party)
Marcus Neville (Kinky Boots, The Full Monty)
Jake Odmark (Kinky Boots)
Emily Padgett (Side Show)
Preston Sadleir (Big Love)
Taylor Trensch (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)

A View of the River is an evening of music from the team of Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott. Top-tier Broadway performers will join Will and Jeff to share songs from their upcoming EP A View of the River (seven songs by Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott), a collection of songs about how we love and how we live, all told through the pop-infused melodies and thoughtful lyrics that mark their writing.

The evening also features highlights from two of their musicals, Imagine Harry and Wintersong. The first is the story of a retired imaginary friend and his grown, lost client; the other is a story of love and jealousy set under the vast skies of the pioneer Nebraska Territory. Joyous, propulsive, heartfelt and theatrical, and featuring some of the best voices working in musical theatre today, this will be a celebratory evening marking the arrival of a new team to watch and remember.

Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott are a musical theatre writing team. Their musical Imagine Harry was a semi-finalist for the 2015 O’Neill Musical Theatre Conference. In September of 2015, they will be releasing an EP of standalone songs called A View of the River (seven songs by Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott). They are currently working on a new musical called Wintersong.

Will (music and lyrics) has also written the upcoming musicals Magnificent Climb (with Rick Elice) and Writing Kevin Taylor (with Josh Holloway), as well as Winnie the Pooh Kids, The Lion King Jr., and Kids for Disney, among many other compositions. His albums Chasing the Day, Writing Kevin Taylor, Daylight, Constant and Make the Season Bright (the last three co-written with Matt Doyle) are available wherever digital music is sold.

Jeff (lyrics) is the author of The Submission, which won the inaugural Laurents/Hatcher Award in 2011, was produced Off-Broadway by MCC Theater starring Jonathan Groff and Rutina Wesley and went on to win the Outer Critics Circle John Gassner Award for Best New American Play in 2012, and has since been produced all over the country. His play A Public Education was a finalist for the 2015 O’Neill Playwrights Conference.

Will and Jeff live and write in New York City.